Seeking Out Me

Day #73

Posted in FarmVille, life, unemployed by Tracy on February 4, 2010

I’m recovering nicely from my minor surgery. It itches like a bitch which means it’s healing so that is good news.Yay!

Earlier this week there was a news story on TV about how YouTube is hiring a ton. But they are owned by Google, so my chances of getting in are slim to none. Why? Because to get in the front door at Google, you don’t just need to know someone, you need to have had a high GPA (think Dean’s list) and have gone to a good school (think America’s Top 100).¬† It doesn’t matter if you have 20 years experience and are completely overqualified, you can’t get in because you are automatically judged in the first 10 seconds someone glances at your resume.

Personally, I don’t think I would want to work for a company that judges you on decisions¬† that I made when I was 18 years old. I mean, I almost failed out with a 1.8 GPA in my freshman year and wound up graduating with a 2.75. Do you know how hard that was to get my GPA up to even that high after I screwed it up so badly? Even after I pledged a sorority? Something should be said for that effort I think. But nope, I will never work at Google or any Google company unless acquired by Google and then I would have to hold my breath that they didn’t ask me for my transcript. Good grief. Too much pressure. Although Google is going to own the world soon so maybe there is no hope for me.

I was telling my husband the other day that having all of this time off would be more relaxing if I was retired. But the stress of having to find a job lingering in the background of my psyche, makes it hard to really “relax”.

Today, I have no agenda. My whole day is completely free. I plan on staying in my pajamas until at least noon doing nothing except tending my farm in FarmVille and surfing the net. All of this job hunting and networking is exhausting, I think I need a day off. I think I’ll pretend to be retired today just for the day.

Leave a Reply

