Seeking Out Me

Day 99 – hard sell

Posted in Certifications, life, Project Management, unemployed by Tracy on March 3, 2010

I had 2 job interviews this week and overall about a dozen (phone and in person) and the hardest thing I have to do is under sell myself. It’s extremely difficult to play down my experience. All I want to do is be an individual contributor for a change. A  little less responsibility. Be able to go home at 5 or 6 and not be married to my iPhone or CrackBerry. Is that too much to ask for? Apparently it is because if I had a nickel for every time someone told me that I was overqualified, I could retire by now. Everyone is afraid that I’ll be bored. I try to explain that I don’t really get bored and can find processes to improve and things to do. But it’s of no use. And here I just want to scream out “You should hire me because I am a rock star AND I will make you look good! and p.s. I don’t want your management job either so relax.” Perhaps a t-shirt or a new business card that I can just hand them when they hand me theirs. And if I have one more person ask me if I am PMP certified I think I am going to scream. I’ve decided that the next time someone asks me, I need to come up with something clever. Any ideas? Maybe instead of saying I think that certifications are for people that have no experience, perhaps I’ll ask them, “If you had as much experience in project management as I did, would you think it would be worth your time to go back for a (silly) certification?”

I did have one nice person tell me today that although they thought I was overqualified they knew of someone that was hiring for a manager position at a company in the South Bay. But I politely declined. Why? Because that’s a non-starter going back to a 75 minute each way commute if I can help it. I really don’t want to have to do that if at all possible.

I just got back from Cavallo Point (right over the Golden Gate Bridge) for a nice over night stay and then spent the afternoon in Sausalito with my hubby. We had a great time and then we saw our last Oscar nominated film, An Education. It was really good. We also saw Precious the other night and that was good too, but heavy. Made me cry.

Tomorrow, lunch with an old friend and former mentor and getting my hair cut and then happy hour at Iluna Basque as they celebrate their 6th year anniversary with half price appetizers and bottles of wine from 5:30-7:30. Woohoo! And the beauty is that I can actually make it there by 5:30 because I am not working and don’t have that long ass drive. Just yet another reason to keep my job search closer to home.

Until tomorrow.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anne said, on March 3, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    Great blog! I found you on divine caroline – read your article on speed dating. 🙂
    Good luck with the job hunt; I hope nothing but the best for you!


Leave a Reply

