Seeking Out Me

Day 151 – Naked Lunch

Posted in job search, Living in the moment, Lunch, San Francisco, unemployed by Tracy on April 27, 2010

Okay, so today I was a little silly when I posted in my Facebook status that I “just had Naked Lunch with my hubby” and told them to read about it at FoodieFool.com. But, in all of this free time, I sometimes need to amuse myself.

Yesterday, an author friend of mine did a blog post on telling someone you love them before you get cancer. In her blog post she posted a video from days before the 1906 earthquake. It was a silent film found on YouTube where people were just going about their business as if tomorrow was yet another day. The motivation behind her post was a segment she had seen on 60 Minutes that said that San Francisco’s next big quake was coming soon and they just hoped that the Bay Bridge reconstruction would be done in time before that happened. Scary and yet thought provoking.

Then a couple hours later, my phone rang. I thought it was my best friend whom I’ve known since the 9th grade, but instead it was her husband. He called to tell me that she was in the hospital. Something was wrong with her liver, but they didn’t know what it was. They ruled out cancer and hepatitis, but still no answer, just more testing.

All of this made me remember that back when I lost my mother, I already knew that life was short, but how short, I didn’t quite realize until then. Every once in a while, I get reminded again of how short life really is. All of this brought to mind a lyric from one of my favorite Fiona Apple songs, Criminal, “But I keep living this day like the next will never come,” which is why I went to Naked Lunch today. I decided that I can be worried about finding a job and spend all day looking for one on the computer. Or, I can enjoy my time off and when the right opportunity presents itself, I will welcome it, because I will have been well rested.

I started my day with a mani-pedi that I had scheduled for 10am – not too early, but early enough to give me a jump start on the day and get out of the house. Then I met my husband for lunch at Naked Lunch where I indulged in a decadent foie gras torchon sandwich. (You should read the review on FoodieFool).

Now, I’m hanging out and I’m going to read on my chaise lounge looking out on my beautiful view of the city. But I only have an hour because I’m going to Bikram Yoga this afternoon. So, I gotta run. But for now, my advice is to live in the moment, because you just never know. Oh, and if you’re religious, say a little prayer for my friend Heidi!

Leave a Reply

