Seeking Out Me

Day 117

Posted in Examiner, Project Management, Rob Pattinson, unemployed, Writer by Tracy on March 22, 2010

I have the best husband in the world! Last night he sat and suffered through 2+ hours of New Moon on Blu-ray with me. What a saint!

Today I couldn’t sleep so I was up before my husband’s alarm went off. Usually I can’t sleep when I am stressed about something but I can’t think of anything that I’m stressed about right now. I know you might think that I am stressed about not having a job yet, but I’m not really stressed as much as I am frustrated by the process, which has changed drastically since the last time I looked for a job.

So far today, I awoke and in my Inbox I found that I won a writing contest for posting my most embarrassing high school moment, with photo. I didn’t win any cash, but I did win a book and am featured on their blog roll for the week. Yay me! Then I decided to follow up with a company that was stringing me along for the past two weeks only to find a rejection in my Inbox minutes later. That’s twice now that I’ve had to follow up with companies in order for them to reject me. Ironic isn’t it? Then on my way to lunch to meet an old friend I received a phone call to speak at an upcoming nonprofit workshop on social media. I don’t think it will pay but it gets me out there as a public speaker.

After talking to my coach last week I’ve decided to pursue contract work for a while to see how it goes. Maybe I will get lucky and someone will love me and want to hire m full-time. I didn’t really want to deal with the headaches of looking for a job every few months with contract work, but that might be the best option. And I am still entertaining the idea of getting my M.F.A.

I submitted my first chapter to a new writing group yesterday and already got some good feedback. I’ll need to make changes this week. Posted a blog on social media for the nonprofit and posted 2 Examiner articles on leadership

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anne said, on March 24, 2010 at 12:50 am

    Congrats on everything. You’re testament that every cloud has a silver lining! Best of luck to you! 🙂

  2. Carol said, on April 23, 2010 at 1:52 am

    I love your imagery. Food baby, indeed! I was with you every step of your description. I need some Alka Seltzer!


Leave a comment